47th Medical Group


The primary mission of the 47th Medical Group at Laughlin Air Force Base, Texas, is to provide medical, dental and aeromedical services to the 47th Flying Training Wing, the Air Force's largest specialized undergraduate pilot training (SUPT) program. The 47th MDG is responsible for managing the health care of more than 3,500 Department of Defense beneficiaries and the medical readiness for wartime and other worldwide contingencies.

Laughlin opened its first hospital Jan. 7, 1955. The facility contained 50 beds, (expandable to 100 beds), seven operating rooms, a dental clinic, and three flight surgeon offices. In 1977, the existing facility was completed, encompassing more than 80,000 square feet with 20 beds (expandable to 50 beds) two operating rooms, and a multi-service care unit. 

Mirroring the rightsizing of the Air Force, Laughlin's inpatient services closed and the hospital became a clinic Oct. 1, 1996. Changes to the facility included replacing the operating rooms and inpatient unit with an outreach clinic and a health and wellness center.

The clinic received its first-ever accreditation from the Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations in December 1997. Its most recent TJC accreditation was in November 2016.

In 2004, the clinic underwent a $7.5 million renovation project, which transformed the clinic's interior into a more efficient setting for outpatient care. 

The 47th Medical Group is comprised of two squadrons with 165 medical personnel.

The Healthcare Operations Squadron provides healthcare services and support in Family Health, Pediatrics, Women's Health, Laboratory, Radiology, Pharmacy, Immunizations, TRICARE and Patient Administration Services, Resource Management, Information Systems, and Logistics.

The Operational Medical Readiness Squadron provides primarily Active Duty healthcare services in Flight Medicine, Optometry, Health and Wellness, Dental, Public Health, Bioenvironmental Engineering, Mental Health, and Medical Readiness.

(Current as of Jan 2024)